Disclosure: Some links below are affiliate links, meaning at no cost to you, we will earn a commission if you click through and purchase.

Is Sensodyne Toothpaste Gluten Free

Sensodyne is a daily toothpaste specially formulated to relieve and protect against tooth sensitivity, however the Sensodyne toothpaste lineup is no longer labeled gluten free. They do not disclose being gluten free on their packaging and would not be recommended for individiuals with Celiac Disease or Gluten Intolerance.

Sensodyne products do not contain gluten as a direct ingredient. However, they cannot exclude the presence of trace amounts of gluten in these products as a result of third-party manufacturing processes because Haleon Consumer Healthcare does not test the final products for gluten.

Understanding Sensodyne Toothpaste Ingredients

Sensodyne toothpastes contain stannous fluoride or potassium nitrate as anti-sensitivity agents that work by either creating a barrier over sensitive areas or by soothing the nerves inside your tooth.

All Sensodyne toothpaste products contain fluoride, which helps fight against cavities, so you can maintain healthy teeth, every day. Fluoride is a naturally occurring mineral that rapidly enters mineralized tissue, such as bone and developing teeth. It hardens tooth enamel, protecting against tooth decay (cavities).

Most Sensodyne toothpastes are also free of sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS), an inactive ingredient that makes toothpastes foamy when brushing. Sensodyne toothpastes do not contain triclosan.

Although once you have sensitive teeth it cannot be reversed, switching to a daily sensitivity toothpaste can protect against the symptoms of sensitivity when used twice a day, every day. Find a gluten free toothpaste option and talk to your dentist about the symptoms you are experiencing. Your dentist can confirm whether or not tooth sensitivity is the cause of your tooth pain and then advise you on how to best care for sensitive teeth.

Prior to using a gluten free toothpaste product, we recommend you always check the list of ingredients printed on the packaging and follow the label instructions.